RPA Awards History

Special Achievement Award

Presented by the Register of Professional Archaeologists in recognition of a profound and meaningful contribution to the promotion of professionalism in archaeology. This award may be given to one or more individuals, one or more organizations, or a combination of individuals or organizations. Initial award presented in 2005.

2015Crow Canyon Archaeological Center
2013Jo Reese
2012The National Trust for Historic Preservation
2011Paul R. Green
2010Willem Williams
2009Laurie Rush
2008William Lees
2007Ed Jelks
2006Charles R. "Chip" McGimsey
2005Utah Professional Archaeological Council
2005State Archaeologist, Kevin T. Jones

Charles R. McGimsey III—Hester A. Davis Distinguished Service Award (McGimsey-Davis Distinguished Service Award)

Presented in recognition of the distinguished service of a Registered Professional Archaeologist to achieving the mission of the Register of Professional Archaeologists as evidenced by a single action or through a lifetime of elevated service. Initial award presented in 2005.

2018Margaret W. Conkey
2017James Bruseth
2016Charles M. Niquette
2015William B. Lees
2014Jeff Altschul
2013Thomas Emerson
2013T.J. Ferguson
2012Michael (Sonny) Trimble
2011Donald Hardesty
2010Donald Weir
2009Lynne Sebastian
2008Don Fowler
2007Fred Wendorf, Jr.
2006William Lipe
2005Hester A. Davis
2005Charles R. McGimsey III

Presidential Recognition Award

Granted at-will by the incumbent president for various reasons relating to service to the organization or the professional and discipline of Archaeology. Initial award presented in 2004.

2018Patricia G. Markert
2017Department of Anthropology, Florida State University
2016Nathaniel Sack
2016Garland F. Niquette
2014Danny Walker
2014Amanda Evans
2013Jim Bruseth
2013Kim Redman
2012Terry Klein
2011Julie B. King
2008Chuck Niquette and Jeff Altschul
2004Edmond B. Jelks

John F. Seiberling Award

SOPA established the John F. Seiberling Award in 1986 in the name of Ohio Congressman Seiberling, for his many legislative efforts in support of historic preservation. Seiberling himself received the first award. The award was intended to recognize significant and sustained efforts in the conservation of archeological resources by an individual or group. Initial award presented in 1986.

2018U.S. Representative Raúl Grijalva (Arizona)
2017U.S. Senator Rob Portman (Ohio)
2015U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich
2015U.S. Congressman Christopher Gibson
2014Marion Werkheiser
2010Nellie Longsworth
1997The Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
1996Loretta Newman
1995Hon. Wyche Fowler
1994Hester A. Davis
1992Hon. Charles Bennett
1992The Archaeological Conservancy
1991Robert L. Stevenson
1990Fred Wendorf
1987Larry D. Banks
1986John F. Seiberling

SOPA’s Distinguished Service Award

SOPA’s Distinguished Service Award was established in 1989 and first bestowed in 1990. It was initially meant to honor long-term service to SOPA, but was later expanded to encompass service to the profession as a whole.

1997Richard D. Daugherty
1996Brian A. Fagan
1995Hon. Robert Gettleman
1994Edward B. Jelks
1993Bennie Keel
1992J. Ned Woodall
1991Charles E. Cleland
1990Hester A. Davis

SOPA’s Special Achievement Award

SOPA’s Special Achievement Award was also established in 1989 and first given out in 1990. The intent was to recognize good works in teaching, research, preservation, public service, etc. There could be one or more granted in a particular year, and in some cases the citation was for multiple individuals working together (like 1993’s ARPA law enforcement training instructors).

1997Robert M. Thorne
1996Peter A. Young
1995Francis P. McManamom
1994Thomas L. Sever
1993Martin McAllister
1993Elwood Jones
1993Sherry Hutt
1993Margaret Kimball Brown
1992Charles M. Niquette
1991John A. Walthall
1990Martin McAllister
1990J. Barto Arnold III

SOPA began granting Emeritus Status and Life Membership in 1990 and thereafter bestowed it occasionally by board vote upon recommendation of the Awards Committee. [As these honorees are to be maintained in the board book or directory, they are marked here with asterisk indicating “deceased” as appropriate]

1996Charles R. McGimsey III*
1996John L. Cotter *
1992Edward B. Jelks
1992Irving B. Rouse *
1990Jesse Jennings *
1990James B. Griffin *

SOPA Presidential Recognition Award

The SOPA Presidential Recognition Award was granted at-will by the incumbent president for various reasons related to distinguished service in the profession and discipline of Archaeology.

DateSOPA PresidentRecipient
1996Fred WendorfCharles R. McGimsey
1996Fred WendorfCharles E. Cleland
1996Fred WendorfLisa M. Hill
1995Larry D. BanksVergil E. Noble
1995Larry D. BanksMichael J. Moratto
1995Larry D. BanksMark J. Lynott
1995Larry D. BanksWilliam B. Lees